Persimmon Pancakes

IMG_4061

Helllooooooo!

My, it’s been quite a long time since my last update. Sorry ’bout that. I blame it all on school and homework. . . which I’ve been procrastinating on. Whoops.

I know this isn’t a food blog, but I just love these.

I actually made these back in autumn, when persimmons were still in season. I wish they were in season now, I really could go for a sweet crunch. I have been putting this post off, but it’s here now.

I love pancakes. I also happen to love persimmons. Why, just blend these two delicious things together and you get. . . drum roll, please . . . persimmon pancakes! I know, amazing, right? Imagine, soft, fluffy pancakes filled with swirls of sweet orange pulp and a symphony of hearty cinnamon and sugar. Of course, it isn’t a proper breakfast of pancakes without the slather of melting butter and the sickeningly sweet maple syrup dripping down on the sides.

IMG_4032

Anyhow, lo and behold, the persimmon pancakes. I hope ya’ll enjoy this as much as I did. I also hope it doesn’t take you guys an hour to make this, not counting the time spent in taking photos. I also hope your blender doesn’t make that horrible burnt smell and that eye-twitching screech from the motor.  Twitch, twitch. I can still remember the sound. It haunts me day and night, even when I . . .where was I again? Oh, yes! Enjoy the persimmon pancakes!  🙂

IMG_4048

 

Persimmon Pancakes
serves two

3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 Tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon butter, melted

3/4 cup milk
1 egg, beaten
1-2 persimmons, skinned and roughly blended

In medium-sized bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Whisk until well blended. In a small bowl, stir together butter, milk, egg and persimmon pulp. Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the persimmon mixture. Stir until just combined – mixture may be lumpy. Spoon batter onto a preheated griddle or frying pan and cook over medium heat. Cook on the first side until the batter begins to bubble slightly and the bottom is browned. Flip and cook until done. Serve hot, with a sprinkling of sugar or a drizzle of maple syrup.

Recipe Courtesy of: http://travelingspoonblog.blogspot.com/2012/01/persimmon-pancakes.html

IMG_4033

IMG_4028

IMG_4038

Looks like vomit. Giggle, giggle.

Looks like vomit. Giggle, giggle.

IMG_4046

IMG_4047

IMG_4062

 

 

Until the next time!

– Forrest

Leave a Reply

